Pirate Jonny’s BBQ Rubs and Caribbean Seasonings

Pirate Jonny's BBQ Rubs and Caribbean Seasonings

Image Copyright Pirate Jonny’s

During my recent visit to Florida’s Largest Home Show, one of the venders that really stood out to me was Pirate Jonny’s BBQ Rubs and Caribbean Seasonings.

These guys are awesome.

I tried their product for the first time at the home show, and I instantly fell in love.

My favorite was the Caribbean flavor, a spicy and sweet masterpiece.  As the spice hit my tongue, I could immediately taste the smooth sweetness as the sharp spice emerged, stealing the show, but in a way that was complementary, not overwhelming.

It was addicting.

And as I drove home, that spice still piquing my senses, I started thinking about all the different meats I was going to add it to, when I suddenly remembered the Parmesan popcorn I’d made the night before.

Popcorn?  That’s right.  More about that later.

The great things about Pirate Jonny’s is the authenticity of their wide range of products.  Their rubs, seasonings, and sauces are all made with traditional spices and fruits found in the Caribbean.  And, probably my favorite part (after the amazing taste), is the fact that they’re all natural.  They’re gluten and MSG free, and are even low in sodium.

Great tasting AND healthy?  You don’t come across that every day!

But Jonathan and Terri Toner are passionate about their craft.  He was raised in St. Pete and she in New Orleans, and now the combined flavors of their heritage are available to the public in their award-winning products.

Here are our local pirates at the home show:

Pirate Jonny’s BBQ Rubs and Caribbean Seasonings

Their products are great for just about anything you’d imagine it on:  steak, chicken, seafood, veggies, even french fries.  I actually used my seasoning to make ribs last night, but we ate them all before it occurred to me to take a photograph.

But did I promise you I’d talk about popcorn?  Yup.  And I did photograph that.

Freshly popped popcorn is a wonderful thing to have on your stove, and I like to experiment with flavoring it.

Pirate Jonnys Caribbean Popcorn

I’m not much for measuring when I cook, but if you’d like to replicate what I made, it’s pretty easy.

First, make the popcorn according to the directions.  Then, pour it into a bowl and drizzle a couple tablespoons of melted butter over it, mixing well to coat.  Shake the seasoning / rub over the top of the popcorn and mix it with a large spoon.

If you want a mild flavor, start slow, and if you want a more intense flavor, shake freely.  I like to see each piece covered in spice.  But it’s a personal preference.

Pirate Jonnys Caribbean Popcorn

To learn all about this local company, visit Pirate Jonny’s.

You can read all about Jonathan and Terri Toner, how their company was created, and where you can find their products by visiting their website.  They also post great recipes on their site and on their Facebook page.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

